2014 Crown Poker Championship: Cameron Bolton wins Main Event

May 6th 2014 By Joshua Bell

The latest poker tournament in Australia to enter the record books was the inaugural Crown Poker Championship Main Event. It took five days of action and in the end it was Cameron Bolton who was crowned the champion after a four-way deal.  

Over the years the Crown Poker Room in Melbourne, Australia has played host to some of the biggest tournaments in the world including the Aussie Millions and the WSOP APAC. They have also hosted some of the biggest smaller buy-in tournaments in the country including the Vic Champs, the Melbourne Champs and oANZPT and APPT events. Over the last couple of weeks a brand-new smaller buy-in tournament ran – the 2014 Crown Poker Championship - and by all accounts it was a huge success.

There were several side events hosted throughout the Crown Poker Champs schedule and that means plenty of new champions. Some of those included Simon Barry who overcame 170 players to win the $550 Six-Max tournaments; Jan Suchanek who won the $350 PLO Event; $350 NLHE Shootout champion Dean Majeed; Victor of the $350 NLHE Deepstack Peter Cordova; and $150 Opening Event  Re-Entry Accumulator champ David Daws.

Of course what most of the players were in town for was the $1,100 Crown Poker Champs Main Event. The tournament was run with two Day 1 flights, the first of which featured a field of 160 players and the second 222. That mean the total field of 382 players created a $382,000 prize pool, $99,330 of which was set to go to the eventual winner.

There were 63 survivors at the end of Day 1a and Harry Demetiou bagged the chip lead with 173,500. Some of the others to survive the first Day 1 flight include Ash Gupta (110,900), Mario Doria (101,000), Billy Argyros (93,000), Dale Marsland (84,700), Ricky Kroesen (81,600) and Benn Skender (72,500).

The second Day 1 flight saw 71 players bag up some chips, with end-of-day chip leader Adrianus Henricus taking the overall chip lead with his stack of 195,600. All in all three players had stacks larger than Day 1a leader Demetriou, with Cameron Bolton having 184,700 and Bruno Portaro having 182,400.

In total 137 players returned to the felt on Day 2, all hoping to make the 36 money-paying positions and hopefully secure a place at the final table. Eventually only 37 players remained and it reportedly took close to an hour for the bubble to burst. The 36 surviving players at this point had locked up at least $2,300.

Some of those to finish in the money but fall short of a final table include Francesco Sergi (36th), Milan Gurung (34th), Peter Mourdaunt (33rd), Billy Argyros (30th), Paul Altis (27th), Mile Krsatnoski (26th), Fabian Craib (25th), Leo Boxell (19th), Pat Dillion (18th), Bruno Portaro (17th), Ross Grammer (14th) and Poker Asia Pacific writer Paul Birman (11th).

When the final table began prominent Aussie online player Sam ‘MILF Island’ Rotar was the chip leader, but news filtered out on the Crown Poker Twitter Page that he was eliminated in 9th place for a $7,650 score. From there Nicholas Lamport (8th), Steve Accardo (7th), Eugene Portlen (6th) and Adrianus Henricus (5th) hit the rail before the final four players made an ICM deal. Chip leader at the time Denny Lewis ($64,033) was going to pocket the most, followed by Tino Lechich ($54,743) and Henry Szmelcer and Cameron Bolton who both locked up $48,222.

The deal left $10,000 aside for the eventual champion and the player to end up on top was Cameron Bolton (pictured) as he overcame poker veteran Tino Lechich heads-up.

2014 Crown Poker Championships – Results
1st: Cameron Bolton* - $58,222
2nd: Tino Lechich* - $54,743
3rd: Denny Lewis* - $64,033
4th: Henry Szmelcer* - $48,222
5th: Adrianus Henricus - $21,010
6th: Eugene Portlen - $17,190
7th: Steve Accardo - $13,370
8th: Nicholas Lamport - $10,510
9th: Sam Rotar - $7,650
*Denotes four-handed deal

Image taken by Chris Newton, Barracuda Snaps

Congratulations to Cameron Bolton on his effort! You can find the full Crown Poker Championship results by clicking here. Check back with Poker Asia Pacific for more Australian poker results throughout the year.

Make sure to keep your browser locked to Poker Asia Pacific and like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter to stay up to date with all the latest news and results from poker in Australia.